2 ministerial posts pluss 9 deputy

18 03 2008
March 18, 2008 23:02 PM  

Sarawak BN Happy With Representation In Cabinet Line-up

KUCHING, March 18 (Bernama) — The four-party Sarawak Barisan Nasional (BN) is quite happy with the new federal cabinet line-up announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi which saw the state retaining two ministerial posts and the biggest number of nine deputy ministers being appointed.

Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, who is also state BN chairman and Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) president, said Sarawak had maintained its status quo as bastion of the BN after wining 30 of the 31 Parliamentary seats it contested during the recent general election.

“Sarawak BN has gained a bit as far as the overall composition of the cabinet is concerned,” he told reporters here today.

However, he added: “Whatever it is, it is the prerogative of the Prime Minister (Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi). I am quite happy with the results and I think all the BN parties are equally pleased as far as the Sarawak side is concerned.”

Taib said that he had not studied the line-up properly but added that there were lot of new faces.

The two ministers from the state are Sarawak United People’s Party (SUPP) organising secretary Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui who retained his portfolio as Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister and the newly appointed Natural Resources and Environment Minister Datuk Douglas Uggah Embas, who was formerly Deputy Transport Minister.

Douglas is PPB senior vice-president, while among the nine deputy ministers from Sarawak is PBB youth vice chief Datuk Seri Sulaiman Abdul Rahman Abdul Taib, who is Taib’s son, appointed as the new Tourism deputy minister. Its youth chief Fadillah Yusof has been appointed as the new deputy minister of the Science, Technology and Innovations Ministry.

The others are PBB assistant secretary-general Datuk Rohani Abdul Karim, who has been promoted from parliamentary secretary to deputy minister of the Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Ministry.

As for the SUPP, its vice president Datuk Robert Lau Hoi Chew has been retained as the Housing and Local Government deputy minister while another of its vice president, Datuk Yong Khoon Seng, was promoted from parliamentary secretary to deputy minister of the Works Ministry.

Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) retained its two deputy ministerial posts with Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum being appointed as the new Energy, Water and Communications deputy minister and Joseph Entulu Belaun as Rural and Regional Development Deputy Minister.

For the SPDP, its senior vice-president Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan has been appointed as the new International Trade and Industry Ministry deputy minister and Jelaing anak Mersat the new Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs deputy minister.

Meanwhile, SPDP president Datuk Seri William Mawan expressed gratitude to Abdullah for giving the confidence to two of its MPs to be included in the new cabinet.

In KOTA BAHARU, Kelantan Umno chief Datuk Seri Annuar Musa the appointment of two ministers from the state namely Datuk Mustapa Mohamed as the Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister and Zaid Ibrahim as Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department augured well for the people.

In MELAKA, its Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam, who is also Umno vice president, said the new cabinet was a formidable team that would be able to fulfil the aspirations of the people.

“I believe the new Cabinet members will be able to bring about the needed change and enhance the delivery system, ” he said and thanked Abdullah for appointing two Melaka MPs namely Datuk Wira Abu Seman Yusop as Deputy Defence Minister and Datuk Idris Haron as Deputy Higher Education Minister.





One response

19 03 2008

cukup atau sik mentri sama juak kedak ya.

bagus sik da election. mungkin zam ajak sik setuju! 😉

seludup banyak, rega nait, jenayah makin merebak!

Man! We have a failed State!

apa nok dikata Mohammad Mohammadson?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: