Think it over…

15 04 2007

Nowadays, everybody is busy. Although two salaries get home, but divorcies increased. These are times of finer houses, but more broken homes.Well here is a cool story I came across and it really touched me

A man came home from work late again, tired and irritated, to find his 5 year old son waiting for him at the door.

“Daddy, may I ask you a question?”

“Yeah, sure, what is it?” replied the man.

“Daddy, how much money do you make an hour?

“That’s none of your business! What makes you ask such a thing?” the man said angrily.

“I just want to know. Please tell me, how much do you make an hour?” pleaded the little boy.

“If you must know, I make $20.00 an hour.”

“Oh,” the little boy replied, head bowed. Looking up, he said, “Daddy, may I borrow $10.00 please?”

The father was furious.

“If the only reason you wanted to know how much money I make is just so you can borrow some to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then you march yourself straight to your room and go to bed. Think about why you’re being so selfish. I work long, hard hours everyday and don’t have time for such childish games.”

The little boy quietly went to his room and shut the door. The man sat down and started to get even madder about the little boy’s questioning. How dare him ask such questions only to get some money.

After an hour or so, the man had calmed down, and started to think he may have been a little hard on his son. Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that $10.00, and he really didn’t ask for money very often. The man went to the door of the little boy’s room and opened the door.

“Are you asleep son?” he asked.

“No daddy, I’m awake,” replied the boy.

“I’ve been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier,” said the man. “It’s been a long day and I took my aggravation out on you. Here’s that $10.00 you asked for.”

The little boy sat straight up, beaming. “Oh, thank you daddy!” he yelled. Then, reaching under his pillow, he pulled out some more crumpled up bills. The man, seeing that the boy already had money, started to get angry again. The little boy slowly counted out his money, then looked up at the man.

“Why did you want more money if you already had some?” the father grumbled.

“Because I didn’t have enough, but now I do,” the little boy replied.

“Daddy, I have $20.00 now. Can I buy an hour of your time?”

Share some time with those who need you. They need our time more then we will ever know


Actions

Information

17 responses

15 04 2007
shar101

AFM,

That was a very, very, very, sneaky stunt to put up a rather ‘baiting’ storyline with the sledgehammer clincher whacking your brains out as you read more.

And I just watched “The pursuit of happiness” (Will Smith & son) again last night.

Am a guy (reassuring myself..hehe), ain’t married anymore and no kids but have my aged parents staying with me.

Thus, sharing quality time with them is definitely ‘pro bono’.

15 04 2007
zewt

this is so beautiful. read it before but it’s always beautiful to read stuff like this.

16 04 2007
elviza

Dear Anon,

This serves as the gentle reminder to all of the busy parents out there.

Money isnt everything (ok its a cliche but its also the truth!)
Children will grow and leave us. Treasure them for as long as you can

16 04 2007
J.T.

Anon, thank you for a beautiful and touching story. Although I can appreciate the fact that some parents have to work hard to make ends meet and thus have little time for the home and children, I also believe if one wants to make time, one will find the time; no matter how difficult. It is how much quality one puts in that time given that is important.

16 04 2007
Anon. Fm Miri

shar101: gotcha… well agreed no “pro bono” for sharing quality time.

zewt: Glad you love reading it.

elviza:Sometime we are carried away with works, sekali sekala sekadar untuk peringatan apa salahnya kan…🙂

J.T: Thanks for dropping by. Agree wef your comments.

Adios

16 04 2007
NURAINA A SAMAD

anon,

oh my…… i am so touched. menghayat hati.

thank you for the reminder.

take care…

16 04 2007
Anon. Fm Miri

Sis Aina, you are welcome. Kita sama-sama mengingati atara satu sama yang lain.

17 04 2007
monsterball

hahahaha..I guess the child has the right to ask the father for financial help..at any age….spoken or silent.
Afterall…he never asked to be born to this world.

17 04 2007
Anon. Fm Miri

But monty, don’t you think the child has the right for the quality time with their parent?

17 04 2007
monsterball

Sure…Like I said…child can demand within reasons….anything…..because the child did not asked to be born in his world. Parents did.

17 04 2007
elviza

ANON!!!

We missed you today at the mee rebus session.

Sigh. I wish I own a plane… then I can go pick you up and send you back accross the south china sea

17 04 2007
Anon. Fm Miri

Elviza, You are such a wonderful friend. By dropping here already make up my day.

Adios

18 04 2007
~penarik beca

Dear bloggers

(Listed in SOPO Sentral of Malaysia)

This kutu is trying to develop a new hobby – listing your latest posting in my blog, Malaysiakita

This kutu really hopes you can update me on your latest posting in
Malaysiakita comment section or by email. You can reach me at sangkutu@gmail.com

To surf from blog to blog really consumes a lot of time. Mintak tolong la sangat-sangat! Harap sangat ni!

I’m seeking your kind help! Tolong! Tolong!

20 04 2007
elviza

Anon,

are you busy? no new post I see. Okay, take care now

23 04 2007
alliedmartster

hey Anon,
Never had the presence of mind to drop in before.
Can I say that you are the only non-anon anon from Miri?
Ha ha..
good to have met you.
Your presence really meant a lot for all-blogs.

Also, your story above? It made me realise that I have been sometimes too hard on my girls….

catcha around

5 05 2007
Daily Nibbler

Nice. Thanks for the reminder. Your blog reminds me of the chicken soup for the soul thing..a repose from the mad mad world out there. Keep it up!

5 05 2007
Anon. Fm Miri

Alliedmartster and Daily Nibbler, Thanks for droping by

Leave a Reply

